Tuesday, August 3, 2010

3 Aug

10 minutes Handstand practice / holds

-then-

5 rounds for time of:

10 Deadlift 275/185
20 Box Jumps 20”

The Inaugural WOD - Aftermath

10 Responses to “Tuesday, August 3, 2010”

  1. Terri August 3, 2010 at 7:04 am #

    HILARIOUS photo! Hahahaha!

    • Terri August 3, 2010 at 1:28 pm #

      Worked on getting used to being upside down: did some tripods; and faced the wall, walked feet up, and held for as long as 60 seconds.

      5 rounds of 10 DL (99#) and 20 box jumps (15″) = 19:11

  2. Pat August 3, 2010 at 2:21 pm #

    So I think I’ve figured out the Growlery. . .

    Do your regular warmup just like before.
    Then do the special growlery warmup.
    (I’m a dripping mess at this point).
    Then do a mini-workout that gets you all worn out before the real workout so that you suck at the workout.

    Today’s Growlery:
    The group warmup included some good stuff that I haven’t done in a while…I like.

    10 minutes Handstand practice. After a minute with this body in a handstand, I was pretty tired. And my upper back which is injured somehow was screaming at me by this point. Kept at it as best I could for 9 more minutes. Part of the time I worked on kicking into a handstand. I’m not menatally ready for that yet so it’s not happening yet. But still I think I made a little progress.

    Then:

    5 rounds
    10 Deadlifts (176# for R1, 154# for R2-5)
    20 Box Jumps, 15″ box

    16:00

    Back pain and spasms made the deads really slow and difficult today. And my jumpers were not working today. Had to do the 15″ box. Having a rough week so far.

    • tpoole1 August 3, 2010 at 3:52 pm #

      Well, it is the Growlery, so keep on growling 🙂

    • LDeMarco_CFRX August 3, 2010 at 10:14 pm #

      Pain and back spasms can make life miserable; the fact that you came in, worked out, and finished the workout is commendable. I hope that you can find some relief soon!

  3. tpoole1 August 3, 2010 at 4:01 pm #

    !0 min of handstand holding – the worst parts for me were my shoulders (they started getting tired about 5 min in) and my left wrist (old, old, injury that cannot be repaired).
    But I am thinking this will help me get the unassisted HSPU soon (I hope!).

    5 rounds
    10 deadlifts 125 lb (66% of 1 rep max)
    20 box jumps 20″

    10:07

    I am hoping that this is supposed to be a high metcon wod because I am not used to doing such light deadlifts in a wod…BUT, my heart rate was WAY up.
    For doing two things that I am not very good at, I am happy with this result.

    • Terri August 3, 2010 at 9:21 pm #

      I should note for the record: I’ve been struggling (again) with fear of the box jump until very recently. I couldn’t make myself jump on the 15″ box a couple of workouts ago. Today I did 100 jumps on the 15″ and even stumbled once and kept going. Laura pointed this out to me. (Thanks for the reminder!)

      • LDeMarco_CFRX August 3, 2010 at 10:16 pm #

        Yay for 100 box jumps! I was especially proud of you for continuing full throttle after the small stumble…I’ve never seen you brave it out like that before!

  4. Brent August 6, 2010 at 1:51 pm #

    5 rounds
    10 deadlifts 186 lb
    20 box jumps 20″

    11:47

    Started looking forward to the deadlifts about half way through.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tuesday, August 3, 2010 « CrossFit Rx - August 3, 2010

    […] Today’s Growlery WOD HERE. […]

Leave a comment